Finally! A Wonderful Earl Grey (O.P 19/04/16)

I think Earl Grey is a bit of a funny blend. Everyone claims that it is extremely British & a national but I seem to find waves of popularity of it, where sometimes people do like it & then there are times when it not! I won’t do a big history on the blend but briefly the blend has been about since 1820 & legend has it, that it came from Charles Grey, 2nd Earl Grey & Prime Minister of England. The rumours of the blend come from his apparent diplomatic relations with China, though there is some issue with all the dates lining up.

IMG_1566
Simpli Special Earl Grey

It is basically a blend of black tea with the addition of oil of bergamot (a citrus tree from Italy). Due to it being a ‘type’ of tea & not a trademarked blend, everyone will do the blend slightly different.
I’ve had a couple of less that pleasant bagged versions when I’ve been out so have been keen to get a quality loose leaf blend to have at home. I think its a perfect blend for all year around, the addition of the citrus flavouring & that it is a hot drink works well in the winter but also its quite a refreshing blend as the days are getting warmer. I just found this blend online by a company called ‘Simpli-Special’ & though I’d try them for Β£4.70 plus Β£2 delivery for 100g didn’t seem too bad, I also received a free sample of their ‘Supreme Earl Grey’ blend. It came quite quickly as well so all in all, I have been quite happy with their service.Now I’m not sure why but quite a few Earl Grey blends have cornflower petals in but I think its just for decorative purposes & it does add a little some thing pretty to it.

1461090695
The smell of the dry leaves is so good. This is going to sound crass but I could huff Earl Grey all day if I could. Is there an Earl Grey perfume?! I’d happily wear one if there is. (Just googled it & there is a Jo Malone Earl Grey & Cucumber Cologne!!) I think it must be the bergamot. Most teabags have chemical additivies used to add the flavour so they don’t smell true which this blend does. It’s a wonderfully refreshing scent. You get the musky base of the black tea but its perfectly balanced withe citrus notes. The dry leaves are quite pretty as I knew it would be, the leaves are almost black but with the flecks of bright blue & white from the cornflower petals.

 

IMG_1565

 

IMG_1562
Bright Red Liquor

I brewed it for about 2 and half minutes, as the last Earl Grey I made I over brewed it. The smell of the liquor was a great lovely fresh citrusy. It wasn’t thick or claggy, The colour of it was bright & reddy. The taste was fresh like the scent & it didn’t give a dryness in the mouth. The mouthfeel was good, it had a full flavour and didn’t give any bitterness on the tongue.
The wet leaves had opened up but you could see they were broken leaves. there had lightened after brewing & were brown with hints of green in leaves. The cornflowers had gone which was a shame but I sort of knew it probably wouldn’t still have the bright blue in it.
Second cup is a bit stronger though I had taken the infused basket out so quickly but it still wasn’t bitter. Actually left a nice aftertaste & had the bergamot flavour on my tongue for a while after.

Couldn’t finish this on the Sunday or Monday so I am finishing this post on Tuesday. I had another cup yesterday & it was just as delicious (if not more). It was very more-ish & you could definitely taste a brightness in the bergamot. I really would recommend this loose leaf tea if your looking for an decent Earl Grey. Its not overpowering but has a really good flavour that makes me want to drink lots of it. After having tried lots of Earl Greys, its finally one I’m not disappointed with & I will surely buy again! Its definitely one for as things start to feel more summery & the citrus makes me feel like the sun is that little bit brighter!

2 thoughts on “Finally! A Wonderful Earl Grey (O.P 19/04/16)

Leave a Reply

